Baby Steps to a New Lifestyle

Healthy is more than just the number on the scale or your blood test results. It’s more than your physical state. It’s more than your mental state. It’s all of this and more. Healthy reflects all areas of your life. A health journey doesn’t have to begin with some grand gesture. It can be as simple as cutting out your daily big mac or Starbucks’ sugary drinks or walking your dog every day.

Have you ever done a scavenger hunt? You don’t tackle the whole list at once, or it becomes overwhelming and not so fun anymore, so you quit. A healthy lifestyle can be like a scavenger hunt. If you never find what you are looking for, you quit. You need to put your priorities in order and check them off as you go.

It takes 21 days to make a habit. 90 days to create a lifestyle. So rather than trying to change every aspect of your life, start small. Pick one thing to work on each month. It can be one big thing or a couple little things. (See my last post for a list of what I’m working on this month.) But don’t go too crazy. Baby steps are the key to making a lifestyle change that will stick.

Start by making a plan.

1. Pick something and commit to working on it for the next 21 days. Keep scrolling for some ideas.

2. Tell someone about it. Start an Instagram account or challenge a friend. Whatever will work for you.

3. Remind yourself. Set an alarm on your phone, lay out your workout gear before you go to bed, put a sticky note on your bathroom mirror or coffee, ask someone to text you… there are tons of ways you can make sure to remember!

4. Don’t give up. Even if you think what you’ve committed to is too hard for you. Do it anyways. Finish the 21 days. After that you can decide if you will finish the 90 days to make your new habit a lifestyle change.

5. Have fun! Don’t make this a chore that becomes a burden. Find a way to fall in love with whatever you choose. If you don’t, you will lose interest and end up quitting.

Baby Steps to a New Lifestyle

19 IDEAS FOR 2019:

1. Go vegetarian/plant based

2. Workout 3x a week

3. No more fast food

4. No processed sugar

5. Take a long walk every morning

6. Drink more water

7. Pack your lunch

8. Join a sport

9. Train for a 5k

10. Get 7+ hours of sleep a night

11. Start a hobby

12. Food prep

13. Start a gratitude journal

14. Declutter your closet/house/schedule

15. Make a vision board and put it somewhere you will see it

16. Always carry healthy snacks

17. Make healthy food swaps (popcorn for potato chips,

18. Eat more veggies + fruit

19. Cut out soda pop or alcohol

Remember, these are just some of the things you can change. You probably will mess up, especially in the beginning and that’s OKAY! Don’t let it discourage you and DON’T compare yourself to others. Your health and fitness journey is just that yours. Your body and mind are different than everyone else and what works for them may not work for you and vice versa.

And please BE PROUD of any change you make. Big or small. You are doing this for you. Not for the haters or the people who tell you you’re doing it the wrong way. As long as you aren’t doing anything dangerous to yourself or others, they have no right to stand in your way.

Finally, surround yourself with positive, like-minded people. When I started my own journey, almost a month ago, I had people immediately reach out on Instagram full of support and encouragement. I can honestly say that if it weren’t for them, I probable would have quit.. again. But I am so glad I’ve stuck with it. If you do make an IG account, add me! @greenmuggetsfit I’d love to join your support team!

DAY 27/365 🤙

Signature | GREEN MUG ADVENTURES

Baby Steps to a New Lifestyle | GREEN MUG ADVENTURES BLOG

2 Replies to “Baby Steps to a New Lifestyle”

  1. I’m right there with ya on making small changes. For me, I am trying to get back to being more active – whether it’s by walking to work when I can or getting myself to the gym for a quick workout. I think all of the long workouts I used to do (when playing sports) make me wary about heading to the gym – but when I remind myself that I don’t need to stay there for a long time, it becomes easier to get myself out there 🙂

    Anyway, I hope you had a nice weekend and keep up all of your hard work! You got this!!

    Like

Leave a comment